Mā Te Kākano | Potential

Quest Art Space
58 Bank Street, Whangārei, Aotearoa | New Zealand
curated by Sonja van Kerkhoff

7 - 27 April 2024
open: Mondays - Fridays: 8am-5pm, Sat & Sun: 9am-4pm
Gallery contact: Lenny at creativenorthland.com

Explorations on what and where the seed can take us.
This exhibition is also a collaboration with the annual TreeCrops Association Photographic exhibition

Talks by Sonja at The Shutter Room | short video on facebook | @sonjavank



Artists / Photographers | The TreeCrops Exhibition >>

Annette Ah Chee, Kirikiriroa / Hamilton

Bev Goodwin, Auckland | Tāmaki-makau-rau instagram.com/bevgoodwinartist

Binny Birch, Moerewa, The Far North | Tāmaki-makau-rau

Brenda Liddiard, Auckland | Tāmaki-makau-rau brendaliddiard.co.nz

Chris Schreuder, Whangārei, Northland | Te Tai Tokerau facebook.com/chris.schreuder

Cle Tukuitonga,Ōtangaroa, The Far North | Te Tai Tokerau

Darren-Beaudene Hita, Whangārei | Te Tai Tokerau

Emma Papadopoulos, Athens, Greece emmapapadopoulos.wordpress.com

Gianni Prencipe, Nelson, Marlborough

Huriana Gilet, Kaitaia, The Far North | Te Tai Tokerau

Jason Povey, Whangārei

Jeff Thomson, Helensville jeffthomson.co.nz

Judy Stokes, Dargaville | Te Tai Tokerau judystokesphotography.com

Miriam von Mulert, Whangārei area | Te Tai Tokerau reyburnhouse.co.nz

Michelle Newman, Cable Bay, The Far North | Te Tai Tokerau

Phil Dadson, Auckland | Tāmaki-makau-rau thearts.co.nz/artists/phil-dadson

Piet Nieuwland Whangārei area, Northland | Te Tai Tokerau pietnieuwland.com

Raewyn Turner, Auckland raewynturner.com

Roland Stenger, Kirikiriroa / Hamilton

Ruth Genet, Mangōnui, The Far North | Te Tai Tokerau

Sen McGlinn, Kawakawa, Northland | Te Tai Tokerau sculpturebysen.wordpress.com

Sonja van Kerkhoff, Kawakawa, Te Tai Tokerau / The Hague, The Netherlands sonjavank.com

Sophia Dadson, Auckland | Tāmaki-makau-rau

Ursula Christel, Warkworth (South Africa) ursulachristel.com

Valma Shanks, Awanui, The Far North | Te Tai Tokerau

Yuki Fukuda, Whakatū | Nelson




Kauri male and female seeds, collected in a Warkworth forest, January 2024



The TreeCrops Association Photographic exhibition + 2024 Dick Roberts Award

- An exhibition within an exhibition -
7 - 19 April 2024, then at Barge Park, 20-21 April

An exhibition of double a5 images - like the title in Māori above - the seed makes it happen - there is a photograph and then a second page or image or poem about how plant, tree, or flower, came to be represented.


1. Annette Ah Chee, Waikato -Thames / Coromandel Branch

2. Cle Tukuitonga, Northland / Te Tai Tokerau

3. Gianni Prencipe, Nelson / Tasman

4. Ursula Christel, Warkworth, Auckland Tree Crops branch

5. Piet Nieuwland, Northland / Te Tai Tokerau

6. Roland Stenger, Waikato

7. Sen McGlinn, Northland / Te Tai Tokerau

8. Sonja van Kerkhoff, Northland / Te Tai Tokerau

9. Yuki Fukuda, Nelson / Tasman


Curated by Sonja + others   Sonja's c.v.